ResinJunkie Reviews: Codex: Grey Knight Part 7: wrap-up

20140824-175017-64217181.jpg
Well it’s been a long day of studying this codex and I’m bringing my review of it to an end with this post, just the special rules and miscellaneous left.

Army/Special Rules
The Aegis, give you re-rolls to 1s when denying the witch. They still have daemonbane of course.

Rites of teleportation is a phenomenal new rule for Grey Knights units who can Deep Strike may enter from reserves from turn 1. Grey Knights are gonna be brutal on the alpha strike!

Psychic Powers
This irked me something fierce, these are just a reprint of the Daemonology Sanctic powers from the Big Rulebook. This is unbelievably lazy, GK must be the only psychic army that don’t have their own psychic powers. Horrendous.

Warlord Traits
1 – Daemon Slayer – hatred daemons, and only needing 2+ to get banishment off… Pass.

2 – Hammer of Righteousness – Warlord and unit gain Hammer of Wrath special rule, eh okay.

3 – Unyielding Anvil – 12″ Stubborn Bubble… Pass

4 – First to the Fray – Automatically arrive turn 1 and can re-roll scatter… Yes please!

5 – Perfect Timing – warlord and unit gain counterattack, hmmm… Okay I guess.

6 – Loremaster – Additional Sanctic Power, Yes please, I want to make a Librarian with 5 powers.

There are a lot of weak warlord traits here I guess you just have to pin your hopes on the 2 good ones and the re-rolls to get it. I wish the the daemon specific ones had ANY use against any other army, it’s just so risky that you might get something 100% useless.

Relics
Bone Shard of Solor – 3++ invulnerable when daemons are about or 2++ if it’s Khorne daemons… Outrageously situational. I can say I probably will never use this. 10pts.

Fury of Deimos – Fancy storm-bolter with an extra shot, precession and master crafted, 10pts. Worth it if you’re already buying a Master Crafted one, splash for this.

Cuirass of Sacrifice – this will be an absolute must take for my Warlord, terminator armour with It Will Not Die, Feel No Pain. Great for keeping tGt Warlord alive longer! 15pts

Soul glaive – a halberd which when force is active lets the user re roll hits and wounds. Could be good on a Grand Master or Brotherhood Captain. 20pt.

Domina liber Daemonica – an additional Sanctic power for the Psyker and re-roll 1 when manifesting powers for the psyker or friendly GK in 6″. 25pts. More choice is always good in my book 4 powers in a librarian will be amazing!

Tactical Objectives
There are various new objectives playing to GK Strengths as these unique ones do, but the daemon one is unobtainable is your opponent doesn’t have daemons and Rite of Exorcism is going to be a right chore. Basically the opponent picks and objective and you have to capture it.

They are fluffy but I don’t know how useful they are going to be.

Summary
I feel like GW have an idea of how they want players to play GK and have pointed it accordingly. I also think that with them not addressing the Anti-Air and Anti-Armour and the low entry minimum Force Org of 1 HQ and 1 Troop that they see them more as Allies.

A lot of the powers, relics and GK specific Tactical objectives are daemon focused. I understand they are the anti-daemon force but a lot of them are totally useless against other armies.

Overall I’m incredibly disappointed with this release. It feels like GW rushed this out to address the confusion with all of the psychic stuff being spread across the codex, rulebook and FAQs. It was lazy, with no new psychic powers or models and more than any release so far comes across as a shameless money grab.

But I’ll try and make the best of what they have given me and if doesn’t work, well, I’ve for another army and my 30k Death Guard as well.

– ResinJunkie

4 responses to “ResinJunkie Reviews: Codex: Grey Knight Part 7: wrap-up

  1. I have some questions as I don’t have the codex yet (awaiting mine) but hope you can help:

    RE: Army/Special Rules – “Rites of teleportation” – Is this just a special rule ONLY gained from the Nemesis Strike Formation, or is it a general army rule like Aegis, psychic brotherhood, etc?

    RE: you talk about the ‘slots’ in previous posts, e.g. only 2 slots for HQ, only 4 slots of troops, etc.

    Is this a new FOC that forces 7th ed. Grey Knights to adhere to (no triple Dreadknights – 3 Heavy?), or is this just the slot FOC for the Nemesis Strike Formation only?

    I was under the understanding you could still build your army as per 7th edition rulebook e.g. standard battleforged combined arms detachment, so 1 HQ 2 troops minimum, with option to add 1 HQ, 4 Troops, 3 Elites, 3 Fast Attack, 3 Heavy Support, etc, etc.

    • The Rites of Teleportation are for both of the formations in the Codex. The Brotherhood one though I think its too unwieldy. I’m not sure about using the Big Rule Book Force Org, I’ll look into and get back to you!

      • Hi, thanks for the reply much appreciated.

        As far as I’m aware formations are ‘optional’, so I would assume one could still build as per big rulebook say if you want to run triple dreadknights, triple stormraven, etc.

        Also I’m under the impression these days in 7th you could run a normal CAD (combined arms detachment) along WITH a formation to bolster/assist, or even double CAD anyway, so you’re certainly not limited to taking only 1 formation/detachment etc. All that’s limiting you are points, and the respective FOC requirements of each formation/detachment.

      • N,B. I also note that I assume both formations in new GK book do not have “Objective Secured”?

        So re: Combined Arms Detachment in the main rulebook, it would seem to me perfectly reasonable to use the CAD force org to get objective secured, and say have a supplementary GK force using Nemesis Strike Formation to benefit from rites of teleportation to assist.

Leave a comment